国立音楽大学在学中よりミニマル・ミュージックに興味を持ち、現代音楽の作曲家として出発。1981年「MKWAJU」を発表、翌1982年にファーストアルバム「INFORMATION」を発表し、ソロアーティストとして活動を開始。以後、「ミニマリズム」シリーズ(2009, 2015, 2017)、「Melodyphony」(2010)、Decca Goldから「Dream Songs: The Essential Joe Hisaishi」の全世界同時リリース、「Symphonic Suite “Kiki’s Delivery Service”」(2020)などのアルバムを多数生み出し、ジャンルにとらわれない独自のスタイルを確立する。今年7月には、最新ソロアルバム「ミニマリズム IV」の発売が決定している。 1984年の映画『風の谷のナウシカ』以降、『風立ちぬ』(2013)まで宮崎駿監督作品の音楽を担当する。このほか、『HANA-BI』(1998/北野武)、『おくりびと』(2008/滝田洋二郎)、『悪人』(2010/李相日)、『かぐや姫の物語』(2013/高畑勲)、『家族はつらいよ』シリーズ(2016, 2017, 2018/山田洋次)、『海獣の子供』(2019/渡辺歩)など、話題作の映画音楽を多数手掛ける。国内では、これまでに数度にわたる日本アカデミー賞最優秀音楽賞をはじめ、2009年紫綬褒章を受章するなど数々の賞を受賞。海外においても『千と千尋の神隠し』でのアニー賞音楽賞のほか、韓国映画『トンマッコルヘようこそ』、中国映画『おばさんのポストモダン生活』、『Our Time Will Come』などで各国の最優秀音楽賞を受賞している。
2001年には、映画監督としてデビューを果たした『Quartet カルテット』を製作。音楽・共同脚本をも手掛けた本作品は、日本初の本格的な音楽映画として、モントリオール映画祭のワールドシネマ部門正式招待作品に選ばれた。
また演奏活動においても、ソロピアノやオーケストラなどさまざまなスタイルを披露。2004年にはカンヌ国際映画祭オープニングセレモニーにおいて、バスター・キートンの無声映画『The General』のフィルムコンサートの音楽と指揮を担当。同年7月、新日本フィルハーモニー交響楽団と「新日本フィル・ワールド・ドリーム・オーケストラ(W.D.O.)」を結成し、音楽監督に就任。毎年多彩な内容のプログラムで海外公演を含む約10会場のツアーを実施している。2017年から「Joe Hisaishi Symphonic Concert: Music from the Studio Ghibli Films of Hayao Miyazaki」の世界ツアーをスタートし、これまでパリ、メルボルン、サンノゼ、ロサンゼルス、ニューヨーク、プラハなどで開催し、大成功を収めている。
近年は、「コントラバス協奏曲」「TRI-AD for Large Orchestra」「THE EAST LAND SYMPHONY」「The Border Concerto for 3 Horns and Orchestra」などの作品づくりにも意欲的に書き下ろしている。また、クラシックの指揮者としても活躍の場を広げ、国内の演奏会のみならず、香港フィルハーモニー管弦楽団、台湾国家交響楽団、ロンドン交響楽団、メルボルン交響楽団、アメリカ交響楽団、シンガポール交響楽団など世界の主要オーケストラと世界各地でコンサートを開催。2014年より、久石譲プロデュースによるミニマル・ミュージックからポストクラシカルといった世界の最先端の“現代の音楽”を紹介するコンサート・シリーズ「MUSIC FUTURE」を始動。2018年の「Vol.5」では、作曲家デヴィット・ラング氏と競演し、東京公演のみならず、カーネギー・ザンケルホールでのニューヨーク公演はスタンディングオベーションで大きな話題をよんだ。さらに2019年7月には、新たなプロジェクトとして「フューチャー・オーケストラ・クラシックス(FOC)」をスタートさせ、待望の「久石譲:ベートーヴェン交響曲全集」をリリースし、2019年度第57回レコード・アカデミー賞特別部門特別賞を受賞。2020年からブラームス交響曲全曲演奏に取り組み、今年7月には、「FOC Vol.3」公演を東京・長野会場で開催予定。
2020年9月から新日本フィルハーモニー交響楽団 Composer in Residence & Music Partnerに、また2021年4月から日本センチュリー交響楽団客演首席指揮者に就任し、作曲家として“現代(いま)の音楽”を伝える活動も精力的に行っている。
Joe Hisaishi was born in Nagano, Japan. He started to show his interest in minimal music when he was a student at Kunitachi College of Music, and started his career as a contemporary music composer. Presentation of MKWAJU in 1981 and the release of his first album Information in the following year was the kickoff of his career as a solo artist. Since his debut, he has released nearly 40 solo albums, including MinimalRhythm (2009), Melodyphony (2010) and the latest solo album MinimalRhythm 4 (2021). In February 2020, he global released a collection album entitled Dream Songs: The Essential Joe Hisaishi on Decca Gold.
Starting with Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (1984), Hisaishi has produced music for 10 Hayao Miyazaki films, including My Neighbor Totoro (1988) and The Wind Rises (2013). He also composed the music for HANA-BI (1998) directed by Takeshi Kitano, Departures (2008) directed by Yojiro Takita, Villain (2010) directed by Sang-il Lee, The Tale of Princess Kaguya (2013) directed by Isao Takahata, What A Wonderful Familly! series (2016/2017/2018) directed by Yoji Yamada. He has collaborated on the music production of over 80 films at home and abroad. His works have won many awards including several Outstanding Achievement in Music prizes of Japan Academy Film Prize, Spirited Away (won the Outstanding Music in an Animated Feature Production at the 30th Annie Awards), Korean film Welcome to Dongmakgol (won the Best Original Film Music Award of the 4th Korean Film Award) and Chinese film The Postmodern Life of My Aunt (won the Best Original Film Score of the 27th Hong Kong Film Award), Our Time Will Come (won the Best Original Music of the 12th Asian Film Award).
In 2001, he made his debut as a film director with Quartet, taking charge of the theme music and co-writing the script. The film was officially invited for the World Competition section of the Montreal World Film Festival. In May 2004 at Cannes International Film Festival, Hisaishi became the first Japanese musician who conducted an orchestra, performing The General (representative work of Buster Keaton) at the film concert. Hisaishi also is well-reputed as a skilled performer, ranging from piano soloist to orchestra conductor. In July 2004, he assumed a post of first music director of New Japan Philharmonic “World Dream Orchestra (W.D.O.)”, newly formed orchestra project by New Japan Philharmonic. In September 2014, he has been working as a producer and conductor, and holding contemporary music concerts called “JOE HISAISHI presents MUSIC FUTURE”, which concert series earned him enormous popularity and records as a live album. Since 2017, he also starts to present world tour “Joe Hisaishi Symphonic Concert: Music from the Studio Ghibli Films of Hayao Miyazaki” (visiting Paris, Melbourne, San Jose, Los Angeles, New York, Prague, etc.). In July 2019, he also started leading a concert series “Future Orchestra Classics (FOC)” and released Beethoven: Complete Symphonies that was given “Special Prize” from 57th Record Academy Award Japan 2019.
In recently years, he works as a classical music conductor and also composed new works in a contemporary music style, including Contrabass Concerto (2015), TRI-AD for Large Orchestra (2016), The East Land Symphony (2016), Asian Symphony (2017) and The Border Concerto for 3 Horns and Orchestra (2020).
Hisaishi has collaborated with a wide range of artists including Philip Glass, David Lang, Mischa Maisky, and orchestra such as the Hong Kong Philharmonic, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, American Symphony Orchestra, among others. Hisaishi serves as an Invited Professor at Kunitachi College of Music. In 2009, he received the Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon by the government of Japan. In 2016-2018 seasons, he assumed the Artistic Director of Nagano City Arts Center. He holds two new positions, as Composer in Residence and Music Partner with New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra which started in September 2020, and as Principal Guest Conductor with Japan Century Orchestra, which will begin in April 2021.
His unique inputs to the concerts as a contemporary musical composer is highly appreciated and his continuous enthusiasm for musical activities that go beyond ordinary creative work is anticipated worldwide.
<Official website>


2-13-3 Kami Ochiai, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 161-0034, Japan
Tel : (+)81 3 3227 6283
Fax : (+)81 3 3227 6288

  • Facebookページ
  • 演奏会カレンダー
  • 四人組コンサート
  • 作曲家別カタログ
  • レンタル楽譜
  • 著作権&ライセンス